Counseling Office

 Office Phone: 410 761 8950

Office Fax:

Our Staff

Sharon Yost Guidance Registrar SYOST1@AACPS.org
Quincy Caldwell School Counselor: Mg-Sh qcaldwell@aacps.org
Rachel Mills School Counselor: Si-Z rmmills@aacps.org
Garth Newbury School Counselors: F-Ha + ESOL gnewbury@aacps.org
Saralyn Roberts School Counselor: Bi-E saroberts@aacps.org
Dottye Taylor School Counselor: Hb-Mf dztaylor@aacps.org
Derronda Williams School Counselor: A-Bi + BMAH djwilliams@aacps.org

Terri Stanley School Counseling Office Secretary tstanley@aacps.org

Deborah Peterson School Psychologist dpeterson@aacps.org


Kate Matty Pupil Personnel Worker kmatty@aacps.org

Allison Ellis Career Connections Facilitator aeellis@aacps.org

Mission Statement

 The mission of the Professional School Counseling Department at Glen Burnie High School is to assist all students in achieving their fullest potential in the areas of academics, personal and social growth, and career exploration. As leaders and advocates, we actively work to eliminate all gaps and accelerate achievement for all groups by guiding, coaching, and providing multiple pathways and opportunities for success in school. We collaborate with all stakeholders to ensure that all students become positive and productive members of society.

Vision Statement

The GBHS School counseling department is dedicated to providing data driven counseling services to students in the areas of academic, career and personal/ social. These counseling services will help to grow reliable citizens and assist in eliminating the achievement gap

Counselors are now offering college/scholarship and application help sessions after school on Thursdays.
Naviance – College and Career Family Connection

Harassment/Bullying/Cyberbullying Reporting 

If you feel that your child is being harrassed or bullied, please read the information on the attached link, fill out the attached form, and return it to Corkran Middle School as soon as possible.  The school will address the issue and provide support to you and your child to ensure that they feel safe at school.  If you need support regarding a potential harrassment or bullying situation, do not hesitate to call a school counselor or an administrator at 410-761-8950.

Bully Reporting

What Parents Need to Bring for Enrollment:

  1. 2 proofs of residency: One must be a mortgage statement, deed or lease and one must be a utility bill showing your current address.
  2. Proof of custody, if applicable
  3. Immunization records – proof of 2 MMRs
  4. Birth Certificate
  5. Most recent Report Card
  6. Any evaluations – standardized test scores, etc.
  7. Documentation of Special Services – IEP, 504, BIP, etc.
  8. Any medical concerns

Be sure to call 410-761-8950 to schedule an appointment to enroll your child.

For further information about AACPS Enrollment Procedures please visit this link: ENROLLMENT

Out of Area

Dear Parents(s)/Guardian(s):

Re: Just a reminder regarding the Out of Area Applications.

Out-of-Area Transfers (Submit between March 1 – May 1 Each Year)

Parents wishing to complete the necessary paperwork for Out-of-Area transfers for the school year 2016-2017 can now obtain information on Anne Arundel County Public Schools’ web page, www.aacps.org/outofarea The application must be completed and submitted each school year, even for children who already attend a school under an approved Out-of-Area transfer. The continuation is not automatic.

An Out-of-Area transfer is necessary for a student who is a county resident to attend a school within the county other than his or her assigned school. Transportation for these students is up to the parent/guardian. Parents should be sure to read the Frequently Asked Questions section of the page before filling out any applications.

Additional information, including how to submit an Out-of-Area transfer request, how the approval process works, changes in the process from previous years, and new online applications for elementary and secondary students, is available on the site.

(Submit between March 1 – May 1 Each Year) Applications cannot be accepted at schools after May 1, 2016.